Rep. David S. Olsen Chosen to Serve on National Bipartisan Democracy Reform Task Force

Illinois State Representative David S. Olsen (R-Downers Grove) is among twelve young state legislators from across the country who announced this week the creation of the Democracy Reform Task Force to advance legislation on redistricting, government accountability, and access to voting. The lawmakers, all leaders on the forefront of these issues, are reaching across state and party lines with the goal of finding innovative solutions to government reform and sharing their findings with lawmakers across the nation.

The representatives join Millennial Action Project’s (MAP) national effort to support young elected officials as they work to break through partisan gridlock and reestablish political cooperation on issues that millennials care about. “Partisan gridlock has caused millennials to lose trust in our government and civic institutions, and has caused them to check out of the political process,” said Steven Olikara, Founder and President of Millennial Action Project. “The Democracy Reform Task Force is made up of trailblazers who have shown they will prioritize progress over party. Working together, these young lawmakers will lead the nation in finding innovative, legislative solutions to make our government more accountable, transparent, and functional.”

Olsen said it was an honor to be chosen to be an Illinois voice on the task force. “The task force’s policy goals of redistricting reform, access to voting and government accountability are important themes which help guide my own legislative agenda in the Illinois House of Representatives,” said Olsen. “I look forward to working in a bipartisan fashion with other young lawmakers from across the nation to develop solutions that will make government work more effectively for all people.”

The Democracy Reform Task Force was born from MAP’s initiative to rebuild trust in our government in order to encourage civic engagement, particularly amongst younger generations. According to Harvard IOP's 2017 survey, 67 percent of Millennials are fearful of America's future, and just 14 percent believe our nation is headed in the right direction. However, a counter-movement is emerging – led by Millennials – that seeks to disrupt the status quo in government.

The Task Force is a peer-to-peer sharing of ideas and not an endorsement of any particular reform. Democracy Reform Task Force members include: 

  • Rep. Shevrin Jones (D-FL)

  • Rep. Warwick Sabin (D-AR)

  • Rep. Stephanie Clayton (R-KS)
  • Senator Frank LaRose (R-OH)
  • Rep. Amanda Stuck (D-WI)
  • Senator Art Linares (R-CT)
  • Rep. Caroline Simmons (D-CT)
  • Senator Stanley Chang (D-HI)
  • Rep. Chaz Beasley (D-NC)
  • Rep. Jonathan Brostoff (D-WI)
  • Rep. Michael Caldwell (R-GA)
  • Rep. David S.Olsen (R-IL)
The Millennial Action Project (MAP) is a national, nonpartisan 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to activating young policymakers to bridge the partisan divide and lead a new era of collaborative governance. In 2013, MAP organized America’s first-ever bipartisan caucus for young members of Congress, the Congressional Future Caucus. Shaping the next generation of leadership, MAP's Future Caucus Network has expanded into fifteen state legislatures and grown into the largest nonpartisan organization of millennial elected officials in the U.S. More info available at:

No comments :